Welcome from the new Chair of the Separation Science and Technology Group

9 Jan 2015

At the Separation Science and Technology Group's AGM on 24 November 2014, Dr George Okafo was elected as the Group's new Chair. Here, he outlines his plans for the Group and thanks the outgoing Chair and committee members for their dedicated years of support and service to the Group.

Firstly, on behalf of SCI and the Separation Science and Technology Group (SSTG), I would like to thank Peter Levison (outgoing Chair) for serving as the Chair for the last five years. During this tenure, Peter was instrumental in guiding, shaping and steering the Group forward and helping to promote and raise awareness of separation sciences. Thanks also go to Craig Duckham and Nigel Slater (previous SSTG committee members) for their service and support of the group over the last few years.

Going forward into 2015 and beyond, the group's remit remains unchanged, and that is to communicate, disseminate and exchange ideas on new technologies and new applications with the wider separation sciences community. One way to achieve this will be to identify opportunities to partner and collaborate with other SCI interest groups. As before, the group will be organising meetings, conferences and workshops, thus building on the success of previous ion exchange, chromatography and international solvent extraction conferences.

In summary, I would like to see a re-energised SSTG, raising awareness of separation sciences through increased communication and alignment with the group community and members' needs and interests; building partnerships with other SCI groups and external societies; and use of innovative meeting formats to disseminate information.

I look forward to sharing more information about our plans as they progress.

Dr George Okafo
Chairman, Separation Science and Technology Group

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by