Liverpool Student Prize-Giving Evening

31 Jan 2012

The annual student prize-giving event took place on 10 November 2011 at the Portico Library in Central Manchester. The best students graduating from degree courses in chemistry-related subjects from universities within the Liverpool and North West geographical area were recognised for their successes, taking home a cash prize and a year's free membership to SCI. The special guest for the evening was Prof Dame Nancy Rothwell; Vice Chancellor of the University of Manchester. Prof Rothwell inspired the prize-winners into the benefits to themselves and society in continuing a career in science.

The SCI group was joined by the RSC North West Analytical Division, which also presented its Gerry Davidson Prize to students and staff from Sir John Dean's College in Northwich, Cheshire for winning the local analytical competition and the national prize.

Pictured left to right: Joanne Cuff (University of Manchester prize-winner), Deane Pentney (Open University prize-winner), Dame Prof Nancy Rothwell, Hayley Gregory (Manchester Metropolitan University prize-winner) and Trevor Rhodes (SCI Liverpool and North West Regional Group Chair)

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by