2014 Beilby Medal and Prize awarded to Prof Javier Pérez-Ramírez

23 Apr 2014

We are delighted to announce that Prof Javier Pérez-Ramírez is the recipient of the 2014 Beilby Medal and Prize, awarded jointly by SCI, RSC and IOM3.

The Beilby Medal and Prize is awarded annually to a scientist or engineer to recognise substantial work of exceptional practical significance in chemical engineering, applied materials science, energy efficiency, or a related field.

The award is administered in rotation by SCI's Materials Chemistry Group, the RSC and IOM3. The selection process and award ceremony for 2014 is being administered by SCI's Materials Chemistry Group.

Javier Pérez-Ramírez FRS (Benidorm, Spain, 1974) has been Full Professor of Catalysis Engineering at ETH Zurich since 2010, and chairman of the Institute for Chemical and Bioengineering at the Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences since 2012.

He studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Alicante (1997) and earned his PhD at the Delft University of Technology (2002). Subsequently he worked for Norsk Hydro and Yara International (2002-5) and was appointed ICREA research professor at ICIQ (2005-9).

Prof Pérez-Ramírez's research tackles the major concerns facing today's society, such as the energy crisis and the need for environmental protection. His team focus on the fundamental design and technical development of new catalytic materials and reactor engineering concepts, favouring more efficient and sustainable manufacturing within the chemical industry.

He has published over 250 articles and is co-inventor of 13 patents, several of which are under industrial exploitation. His scientific contributions have been recognised by several awards, most recently the Otto-Roelen-Medal (2012) and the EFCATS Young Researcher Award (2013). He is Associate Editor of Catalysis Science and Technology, RSC's flagship catalysis journal.

The Beilby Medal will be presented to Prof Javier Pérez-Ramírez at a prize-giving ceremony hosted by SCI later in the year at which he will give a talk.

SCI, RSC and IOM congratulate Prof Javier Pérez-Ramírez on his efforts and outstanding contribution to catalysis engineering, which make him a very deserving winner of the Beilby Medal 2014.

Related Links

Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by