2009 Distinguished Service Award for SCI's Canada Executive Committee's James Smith

Professor Emeritus James W Smith has been a member of SCI since 1986, a member of SCI Canada’s executive committee from 1986-1991 and from 2003 to the present. He serves on the awards committee, has been chair and vice chair, and has been the co-chair of the 2002 SCI conference, Towards a Smarter Tomorrow.

Dr Smith was the initiator of the Kalev Pugi and Julia Levy Awards of the SCI Canada International Group. He has ensured the participation of students and staff of the departments of Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry in the Annual Awards Banquet.
He has also served as chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto, he is a volunteer member of the Special Scientific Advisory Committee of Alberta Sulphur Research Limited (spin-off from the University of Calgary), and have focussed his research and commercial development on the processing of biogas, helping in a small way to reducing society's carbon footprint.

  • Professor Emeritus James W Smith will be awarded with his DSA during the Canada Annual Awards Ceremony on 26 March 2009 in Toronto.
Show me news from
All themes
All categories
All years
search by