7 September - 9 September 2022

IEX2022 - A Vision for the Future

Organised by:

SCI's Separation Science and Technology Group

Cambridge, UK

Registration Closed

This event is no longer available for registration.

Programme | Venue and Contact | Fees | Additional Info


The SCI IEX Conference brings together an internationally recognised group of experts in the field of ion exchange and its associated uses, including water treatment, catalysis, chemical processing, hydrometallurgy and bioprocessing.

The Conference started in 1954 and has been held regularly at 4 year intervals since 1976. It is now established as one of the major international conferences of the ion exchange community, sharing its important role with the Japanese Association of Ion Exchange since 2004. Both events are assisted and supported by the independent International Committee for Ion Exchange.

Technical training courses will precede the conference for more information click here

Plenary Speakers

Gabriele Iffland

Talk title: Ion exchange processes in the chemical industry – Current and future applications

Gabriele Iffland is Chemical Engineer and she holds a position as research manager of the competence center for adsorption and ion exchange at the department of process engineering of BASF SE. She has over 20 years of experience on development, optimization und troubleshooting of ion exchange processes with several patents on this topic. Main working areas are the purification of basic chemicals and process streams, downstream processing of biotechnology applications, preparative ion exchange, purification of chemicals for electronic industry and waste water treatment applications.

Prof Marek Bryjak

Talk title: Selective extraction of ionic species by means electrosorption processes

Professor Marek Bryjak is working at Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland. He graduated, received PhD and was awarded by DSc degree at WUST. He underwent post-doc fellowship at Centre for Surface Science, Lehigh University, USA and visited 16 universities around the world. He was heading Department of Speciality Polymers that now turned to Department of Polymer and Carbon Materials. For many years he was the President of Polish Membrane Society and now he is a member of Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology Centre. Professor Bryjak authored about 130 scientific contributions that were cited more than 2800 times. His h factor is 29. He collaborated with various institutions in different countries and coordinated dozens of national and international projects. His scientific interest is focused on development of methods for preparation of polymer membranes including their surface modification, preparation and evaluation of new separation materials and their implementation to water treatment technology.

Venue and Contact

Homerton College

University of Cambridge
Hills Road

For more information on arriving at Homerton College please click here.  Parking in available on a first come first served basis.


Conference Team

Tel: +44 (0)20 7598 1561

Email: conferences@soci.org



Become an SCI Member and save on this and future events

See Membership Options

Sign up as an Event Member to join this event. SCI Full or Student Members receive discounts on event registrations

Booking Process
Read our event booking terms and conditions
CPD Info

SCI Members attending this meeting are able to claim CPD points.


Exhibition and Sponsorship

Packages are available for the training courses, conference, or the whole week and refreshments and posters will be situated to provide excellent access to delegates throughout the meeting. If you are interested in exhibiting at this event, or other sponsorship opportunities, please contact conferences@soci.org or download the registration form by clicking here. Please note exhibition spaces are allocated on a first come first served basis.


Student Bursaries

A limited number of student bursaries are available to registered participants. To receive an application form please email conferences@soci.org.


Organising Committee
  • Carl Atkinson, EDF Energy
  • Daniel Bracewell, UCL
  • Rob Brown, University of Huddersfield
  • Noel Carr, DuPont Water Solutions
  • Michael Cox, University of Hertfordshire
  • Harry Eccles, University of Central Lancashire
  • Klaus-Dieter Topp, DuPont Water Solutions
  • Nicki Edwards, Purolite
  • Gareth Jones, Ovivo UK Ltd
  • Andrew Mosley, RWE
  • Mark Ogden, University of Sheffield
  • Petra Raab, Lanxess Deutschland GmbH
  • Basu Saha, London South Bank University
  • Tuomo Sainio, Lappeenranta University of Technology
  • Rob Terrell, SCI / Industrial Water Consultants Ltd
  • K Clive Thompson, SCI / ALS Laboratories (UK) Limited


International Committee
  • Spiro Alexandratos, Hunter College, CUNY, USA
  • Jose Luis Cortina, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Fidel Cunill, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
  • Masahiro Goto, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Eric Guibal, Ecole des Mines d'Alès, Alès, France
  • Takashi Hayashita  Sophia University, Tokyo, Japan
  • Nalan Kabay, Ege University, Izmir, Turkey
  • Yu Komatsu, Consultant, Japan
  • Kathryn Mumford, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Dmitri Muraviev, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Bellaterra, Spain
  • Tuomo Sainio, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland
  • Shogo Shimazu, Chiba University, Japan
  • Karin Soldenhoff, ANSTO, Australia
  • Kathy Sole, Consultant, South Africa
  • Fernando Valenzuela, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile
  • Emmanuel Zaganiaris, Consultant, France