We use cookies to ensure that our site works correctly and provides you with the best experience. If you continue using our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume that you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them by reading our cookies policy. Hide

Beilby Medal and Prize

Beilby Medal

Established 1930

Sir George Beilby's long and remarkable career as scientist and industrialist was marked by an enduring interest in the twin concerns of fuel economy and smoke abatement. Read more on George Beilby.

The Beilby Medal and Prize are awarded annually to a scientist or engineer to recognise substantial work of exceptional practical significance in chemical engineering, applied materials science, energy efficiency, or a related field. Preference is given to candidates in early stages of their careers.

This award is sustained by a Trust Fund commemorating Sir George Beilby FRS (1850-1924) who was President of SCI (1898-99), the Institute of Chemistry (1902-12) and the Institute of Metals (1916-18) and founding Chairman of the Fuel Research Board.

It is administered in rotation by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), the Royal Society of Chemistry, and SCI.

The selection process of the 2020 Beilby Medal and Prize winner is being administered by SCI.

Nominated by: Open, including self-nomination, with support of referees.

Eligibility: Substantial work of exceptional merit and practical significance in chemical engineering, materials science and engineering, energy efficiency or a related field. Preference is given to candidates in early stages of their careers.

Application: Applications can be made through the nomination form at the bottom of this page

Description of Award: Medal and prize awarded jointly by SCI, RSC and IOM3

Presented at: Conference or dinner hosted by one of the Societies

Frequency: Annual, administered in turn by the three Societies

Nomination Opens: September 2019

Nomination Deadline: 13 January 2020

Selected by: Representatives of the three Societies

Related Links

Share this article