Movers and shakers

25 July 2017

Join SCI

The best way to keep up to date with all of the latest cutting edge technologies from the lab to the market!


At the recent Chemical Industry Awards, the 2017 Outstanding Achievement Award went to Stan Higgins, retiring NEPIC CEO. Stephen Donnelly, an economist with Dow Chemical, Belfast, has succeeded Stefano Ceci of Johnson Matthey, as the CIA’s Young Ambassador.

Reading Scientific Services Limited (RSSL) has appointed Jacinta George as managing director with full responsibility for the leadership and development of the RSSL business. In addition, RSSL’s current operations director, Elma Brennan, will become a statutory director of the company.

Billy BoyleThe Royal Academy of Engineering’s Silver Medal, which acknowledges outstanding personal contribution to British engineering that results in market exploitation, has been awarded to Owlstone Medical’s CEO Billy Boyle. The award recognises Boyle’s pioneering work in developing the UK company’s Breath Biopsy sensor technology, initially for military and industrial applications but more recently for early detection of lung and colorectal cancer.


Bio-printing and microarray technology company Arrayjet, headquartered outside Edinburgh, Scotland, has appointed biotechnology entrepreneur Joe Keegan, and former CEO of ForteBio, as non-executive director.
UK-based biopharma HVIVO has appointed Trevor Phillips as a non-executive director. Previously COO and president of US operations, as well as a member of the board of Vectura, Phillips has over 30 years’ experience within the pharmaceutical industry, including international drug development and corporate development responsibilities.

IGEM Therapeutics, an immuno-oncology company, has appointed Tim Wilson as CEO. Wilson comes to the company with 28 years’ experience in the life sciences sector, ranging from venture capital and start-ups to investment banking and equity research.
Biopharmaceutical company Inflarx has promoted head of clinical R&D Othmar Zenker to the newly created position of CMO.
Safety specialists HIMA Paul Hildebrandt has appointed Stefan Basenach as head of the new process business unit. He will report directly to the group’s CEO Sankar Ramakrishnan.

Medherant, a University of Warwick spin-out developing next-generation transdermal drug delivery patch technology, has appointed two new senior executives to its management team. Sally Waterman becomes COO and Angus Hone CFO as the company moves into clinical development and commercialisation of its ibuprofen patch technology.
Medivir has appointed current head of clinical R&D John Öhd as its CMO. Prior to joining Medivir, he was senior director of experimental medicine at Shire in Switzerland.

Agrochemicals Syngenta has elected Ren Jianxin of China National Chemical Corporation (ChemChina) as chairman. In addition, Chen Hongbo of China National Agrochemical Corporation (CNAC), Olivier T. de Clermont-Tonnerre of China National Bluestar (Bluestar) and Dieter Gericke, partner at the law firm Homburger, were elected as new members of the board. Michel Demaré was re-elected to the board; he will act as vice chair and lead independent director. Gunnar Brock, Eveline Saupper and Jürg Witmer were re-elected as independent directors, and Vinita Bali, Stefan Borgas, Eleni Gabre-Madhin and David Lawrence stepped down from the board.

London-based Tiziana Life Sciences, a clinical stage biotechnology company, which develops  drugs for cancer and autoimmune diseases, has appointed Kunwar Shailubhai as CEO and CSO. He was previously a non-executive director at the company. Tiziana has also appointed Howard Weiner, professor of neurology at Harvard Medical School, US, and Kevan Herold, professor of immunobiology at the Yale School of Medicine and director of the Yale Diabetes Center in the US to its scientific advisory board.

Clinical-stage biopharmaceuticals Verona Pharma, which focuses on developing and commercialising therapies for treating respiratory diseases, has appointed Desiree Luthman, as VP, regulatory affairs. Prior to joining Verona, Luthman directed regulatory activities related to pulmonary disease at Sanofi in the US.

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) has awarded the 12th George E. Davis Medal to Roland Clift, professor emeritus at the University of Surrey, UK, for his work in applying chemical engineering concepts to economic, environmental and social issues that reduce environmental impact and improve sustainability.

The Cairo-based PharmaLex Group, which provides expertise in  development consulting and scientific affairs, regulatory affairs, and pharmacovigilance, has appointed Zabin (Zeb) Younes as associate director, regulatory affairs. Younes has over 15 years’ experience in the biopharmaceutical / biosimilar development lifecycle, from proof of concept through to commercialisation. 

Carl Firth, ceo of ASLAN Pharmaceuticals, has been appointed to Singapore’s health and biomedical sciences international advisory council. The Council, chaired by Sir Richard Sykes, chairman of the Imperial college healthcare NHS Trust, steers the development of Singapore’s biomedical sector.
 The Pioneers of Miniaturization Lectureship 2017, sponsored by Dolomite Microfluidics and Lab on a Chip, has been awarded to Aaron Wheeler, professor of bioanalytical chemistry at the University of Toronto, Canada, in recognition of his contribution to digital microfluidics.  

Akili Interactive Labs, which develops non-pharmacological technology for cognitive disorders, has appointed former Cubist Pharmaceuticals CEO, Robert J. Perez, as executive chairman.  In addition, the company has appointed former DreamWorks Interactive CEO, Glenn Entis, and former chief game designer at Google, Noah Falstein, as executive advisors.

Become an SCI Member to receive benefits and discounts

Join SCI