Movers and Shakers

6 February 2017 - Neil Eisberg

Join SCI

The best way to keep up to date with all of the latest cutting edge technologies from the lab to the market!


Contract development and manufacturing organisation Recipharm has appointed Anders Högdin and Aaron Small to lead the growth of its pharmaceutical development services business in the US and Europe.

Tobias Brandis has taken over as president of the Wacker Polysilicon division. Promoted from CFO of the Group’s US subsidiary Wacker Chemical Corp, Brandis succeeds Ewald Schindlbeck, who has retired.

Drug discovery company Confo Therapeutics has appointed John Berriman as non-executive director and chairman of the board of directors.

Alexander Krapivin has joined Reverdia as business development manager to work with the company’s commercial team in the global market for bio-succinic acid.

Specialty biopharmaceutical company Realm Therapeutics has appointed Ivan Gergel as a non-executive director.

At BASF, Hartwig Michels, president, regional division Europe, Ludwigshafen, will take over as president, petrochemicals. He succeeds Rainer Diercks, who is retiring. Markus Kramer president, dispersions & pigments, BASF East Asia regional headquarters, Hong Kong, will succeed Michels.

Also at BASF, the supervisory board has named Saori Dubourg, formerly, head of BASF’s Health & Nutrition division, and Markus Kamieth as new executive directors. Kamieth formerly led BASF’s coatings division.

Munich-based leon nanodrugs has appointed Michael Mehler as the new CEO of the company and its US subsidiary leon-nanodrugs Inc. He succeeds Theron Odlaug, who will continue to serve on the supervisory board.

Albumedix has appointed Giles Campion as CMO.

Drug discovery company e-Therapeutics has named Raymond Barlow as its next CEO.

Oxford-based retinal therapeutics company Oxular has appointed David Fellows, previously non-executive director, as chairman. Fellows replaces Nigel Pitchford, who will continue as a director.

Start-up Vir Biotechnology has announced its launch with former Biogen CEO George Scangos heading a team of scientific and industry leaders.

Christi Shaw has joined Eli Lilly to replace David Ricks as head of its bio-medicines business. Enrique Conterno, SVP and president of Lilly Diabetes will be the next president of Lilly USA as well as diabetes chief, replacing Alex Azar, who’s leaving the company.

Also at Lilly, the emerging markets chief Alfonso Zulueta will head up the merger between Lilly’s emerging markets business and its European business, to form Lilly International.

The department of chemistry at the Technical University of Munich and the Jürgen Manchot Foundation have awarded Neand Marković the 2016 Wilhelm Manchot Research Professorship, recognising his pioneering work on electrocatalytic surface processes relevant to electrolysis, fuel cells and batteries.

US Water has named LaMarr Barnes CEO of US Water Services. He succeeds Allan Bly.

At Merck, new appointments to several executive positions have been announced. Michael Heckmeier, currently head of the pigments & functional materials business unit, will become head of the display materials business unit within performance materials. Friedhelm Felten, who previously headed group procurement, will succeed Heckmeier as head of the pigments & functional materials business unit. Both Heckmeier and Felten will report to Walter Galinat, ceo performance materials and member of the executive board.

Karolinska Development’s biomaterials portfolio company Promimic has appointed Magnus Larsson as CEO, succeeding Ulf Brogren, who has relocated to the US to become Promimic’s new head of sales in North America.

Four US and EU clinical experts – Patrick Aubourg, Marc Engelen, Florian Eichler and Gerald Raymond – have joined the board of Minoryx Therapeutics, a drug development company specialising in new drugs for orphan diseases.

Biopharmaceutical company Actinium Pharmaceuticals, which is developing targeted therapies for cancers, has named Mark Berger as its new CMO, reporting to Sandesh Seth, Actinium’s executive chairman.

Gyros Protein Technologies has appointed Gerrit van den Dool as a non-executive director.

GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) has announced Luke Miels’s appointment as president, global pharmaceuticals, succeeding Abbas Hussain, who has left GSK. Miels will be responsible for a portfolio of medicines, reporting to Emma Walmsley, who will become CEO in April 2017.

Merrimack Pharmaceuticals has appointed Richard Peters as president and CEO.

Stem-cell-gene-therapy biotech company Genenta Science has named Carlo Russo as its new CMO.

ArmaGen has appointed Mathias Schmidt as its new CEO.

The Institution of Chemical Engineers have named Erin Johnson (postgraduate chemical engineering student at Imperial College London) as the Ashok Kumar Fellow, 2017. She will spend three months working at the Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology.

Become an SCI Member to receive events discounts

Join SCI